My watch list  

The Chemistry of Moisturisers


© Compound Interest

The Chemistry of Moisturisers

It’s the middle of summer, and hopefully, if you’re heading out in the sun, you’re taking the precaution of applying sun cream beforehand. Sometimes, however, you can end up with sunburn despite your best efforts to prevent it. After sun and moisturisers can help to soothe the burn – here, we take a look at the chemicals that allow them to do their jobs.

Before discussing moisturisers themselves, let’s look at your skin. Skin is composed of three main layers: the epidermis, the dermis, and the hypodermis (also known as subcutaneous tissue). The hypodermis anchors skin to muscles, and also contains fat, but it’s slightly less important to our discussion. The dermis, on the other hand, is very important for water storage – in fact much of the water in our bodies is stored here. It has plenty of other roles too: it contains blood capillaries, sweat glands, nerve endings, and hair follicles. In the context of the skin it’s responsible for providing water, nutrients and energy to the epidermis.

  • preservatives
  • urea
  • skin cells
More about Compound Interest
  • Infographics

    2018’s biggest science stories

    As we head into 2019, it’s time to take a look back at some of the biggest science news stories over the past year. This year’s science news featured water on Mars, the effects of e-cigarettes, new types of isomerism and bonding, and more! 2018 saw a number of significant discoveries in sci ... more

    Unleashing our immune systems against cancer

    The first of the 2018 Nobel Prizes is awarded. The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo for their discovery of cancer therapy by stimulating the immune system to attack tumour cells. This graphic takes a look at the prize-winning research. more

    The creation of tools made from laser light

    After the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been awarded, it is physics' turn. The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Morou and Donna Strickland for their pioneering innovations in the field of laser physics. Strickland is only the third woman to recei ... more

Your browser is not current. Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 does not support some functions on Chemie.DE