Chemical engineering medal winners announced

13-Jan-2010 - United Kingdom

An international line-up of chemical engineers has been recognised by IChemE (the Institution of Chemical Engineers) in its 2009 medals programme. The IChemE medals are presented every year to recognise important contributions in key aspects of the profession. The medal recipients are determined by representatives of IChemE’s awards committee and Subject Groups.

The Council medal – awarded to the person who has given exceptional service in a special project – was awarded to IChemE Fellow Stephen Puckett (Tri-Zen International, Singapore). He was recognised for his work in connection with IChemE’s Singaporean activities and in particular, his work as Chairman of the Singapore branch.

The Arnold Greene medal - awarded each year for the most meritorious long-term contribution to the progress of IChemE – was awarded jointly to IChemE Fellow John Parkinson for his valuable contribution to IChemE for over 40 years, at national and more specifically at regional level within the Midlands Branch, and IChemE staff member Beverley Garratt on completion of 30 years of service at IChemE.

Guan Heng Yeoh (Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation, Australia) and Jiyuan Tu (RMIT University, Australia) were awarded the Brennan medal for their publication, Computational techniques for multiphase flow, 1st edition. IChemE Fellow Allen Ormond (Safety Consultancy Group, ABB Engineering Services) was awarded the Franklin medal in recognition of his active role within the IChemE Safety & Loss Prevention Subject Group over the last 15 years as well as his general contribution to the discipline.

The Hanson medal was awarded jointly to IChemE Fellows Jon-Paul Sherlock (AstraZeneca R&D) and Martyn Poliakoff (University of Nottingham, UK), alongside David Lathbury (AstraZeneca R&D) and Steven Howdle (University of Nottingham, UK) for their article ‘Ten things chemists should know about chemical engineers (and vice versa)’ published in the December 2008/January 2009 edition of The Chemical Engineer magazine.

Michael Prince, Margot Vigeant and Katharyn Nottis (all Bucknell University, USA) were joint recipients of the Hutchison medal for their paper ‘A preliminary study on the effectiveness of inquiry-based activities for addressing misconceptions of undergraduate engineering students”, published in IChemE journal Education for chemical engineers in July 2009.

The Moulton medal was awarded to IChemE Fellow William Zimmerman (University of Sheffield, UK), Buddhika Hewakandamby (University of Nottingham, UK) Václav Tesar (Institute of Thermomechanics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic), Hemaka Bandulasena (University of Sheffield, UK) and Olumuyiwa Omotawa (University of Sheffield, UK) for their paper, ‘On the design & simulation of an airlift loop bioreactor with microbubble generation by fluidic oscillation’ published in IChemE journal Food and bioproducts processing (FBP).

The Donald Medal – awarded for outstanding service in biochemical engineering - was presented to IChemE Fellow Nigel Slater (University of Cambridge, UK). The Frank Lees Medal was presented to IChemE Fellow Haroun Mahgerefteh (University College London, UK) for his paper ‘CO2 pipelines – material and safety considerations’ presented at the Hazards XXI conference. And finally, the Jack Loftus Medal was presented to IChemE Fellow Trish Melton (MIME Solutions Ltd) for her efforts to promote the education and understanding of project management.

IChemE CEO, David Brown congratulated all of the medal winners: “These medals recognise key contributions to the chemical engineering profession in 2009 and in many cases, over a much longer period. The recipients should be very proud of their work and the chemical engineering community recognises their important input.”

Other news from the department people

Most read news

More news from our other portals

Is artificial intelligence revolutionising chemistry?