2015 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

Six international researchers each receive up to €1.65 million in award money

14-Aug-2015 - Germany

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has chosen six international researchers to receive one of Germany’s most valuable research awards: the winners will each be granted up to €1.65 million. The 2015 Sofja Kovalevskaja awards furnish promising researchers with risk capital for innovative projects.

The award winners will spend up to five years conducting research at German universities and research institutions, establishing their own working groups at their host institutes. The awards will be conferred by the Federal Research Minister Johanna Wanka and the President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Helmut Schwarz.

The award winners are:

  • Rikkert Frederix, Netherlands/Switzerland, Elementary Particle Physics, Technische Universität München, Theoretical Elementary Particle Physics Group in Garching
  • Mikhail Kudryashev, Russia/Switzerland, Biophysics/Neurobiology, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt am Main
  • Karin Lind, Sweden, Astronomy, Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg
  • Ioan M. Pop, Romania/USA, Solid State Physics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Clara Saraceno, Argentina/Switzerland, Laser Physics, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Chair of Physical Chemistry II
  • Zhuang Xiaoying, China, Technical Mechanics/Engineering Science, Leibniz University Hannover, Institute of Continuum Mechanics

Other news from the department science

Most read news

More news from our other portals

Is artificial intelligence revolutionising chemistry?