01-Aug-2016 - Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

2016 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

Six international research talents to receive up to €1.65 million each

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has singled out six international junior researchers between 29 and 44 years of age for one of Germany’s most valuable research awards: the winners will each be granted up to €1.65 million.
With the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award, young researchers receive risk capital for innovative projects during an early stage in their careers. The Sofja Kovalevskaja Award allows them to conduct research at a German university or research institute for a period of up to five years and develop their own research groups at their host institutes. The award is financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Thomas Rachel, and the Secretary General of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Enno Aufderheide, will present the 2016 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards to the winners in Berlin on 15 November. An invitation to the media will follow.

The recently selected award winners, their respective home country, last country of residence, research area and host institute are:

  • Mazhar Ali, USA, Solid-state Physics, Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle/Saale (Host is the Humboldt Professor Stuart Parkin)
  • Michal P. Heller, Poland/Canada, Quantum Physics, Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute), Potsdam-Golm
  • Francesco Neri, Italy, Molecular Genetics, Leibniz Institute on Aging, Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI), Jena
  • Faith Osier, Kenya, Medical Microbiology, Heidelberg University Hospital, Heidelberg Centre for Infectious Diseases
  • William Shepherd, USA/Denmark, Elementary Particle Physics, Mainz University, Institute of Physics
  • Safa Shoai, Iran/Australia, Organic Photovoltaics, University of Potsdam, Institute of Physics and Astronomy
Facts, background information, dossiers
  • Sofja Kovalevskaja Award
  • awards
More about Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
  • News

    2015 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

    The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has chosen six international researchers to receive one of Germany’s most valuable research awards: the winners will each be granted up to €1.65 million. The 2015 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards furnish promising researchers with risk capital for innovative p ... more

    Where scientists from abroad want to conduct research

    The universities in the major conurbations Berlin and Munich are in particular demand among foreign researchers according to the Humboldt Rankings released today. The ranking list shows how many researchers have come to Germany on a fellowship from the Humboldt Foundation in the last five y ... more

    Max Planck Research Prize for Chris Field and Markus Reichstein

    Chris Field and Markus Reichstein have been awarded the Max Planck Research Prize 2013 in recognition of their research into the influence of climate change on ecosystems. Chris Field is founding director of the Department of Global Ecology at the Carnegie Institution and Professor at Stanf ... more