07-Oct-2009 - Karolinska Institutet

Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2009 for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome

The ribosome translates the DNA code into life

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2009 awards studies of one of life's core processes: the ribosome's translation of DNA information into life. Ribosomes produce proteins, which in turn control the chemistry in all living organisms. As ribosomes are crucial to life, they are also a major target for new antibiotics.

This year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry awards Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Thomas A. Steitz and Ada E. Yonath for having showed what the ribosome looks like and how it functions at the atomic level. All three have used a method called X-ray crystallography to map the position for each and every one of the hundreds of thousands of atoms that make up the ribosome.

An understanding of the ribosome's innermost workings is important for a scientific understanding of life. This knowledge can be put to a practical and immediate use; many of today's antibiotics cure various diseases by blocking the function of bacterial ribosomes. Without functional ribosomes, bacteria cannot survive. This is why ribosomes are such an important target for new antibiotics.

This year's three Laureates have all generated 3D models that show how different antibiotics bind to the ribosome. These models are now used by scientists in order to develop new antibiotics, directly assisting the saving of lives and decreasing humanity's suffering.

The Prize amount: SEK 10 million to be shared equally between the Laureates

Facts, background information, dossiers
  • x-ray crystallography
  • proteins
  • bacteria
More about Karolinska Institutet
  • News

    Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2018 announced

    The researchers Frances H. Arnold and George P. Smith and Gregory P. Winter were announced as this year's winners of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Their achievements in the directed evolution in enzymes and the use of phage-display to produce antibodies was groundbreaking and worthy of the ... more

    Nobel Prize for Physics 2018 announced

    The researchers Arthur Ashkin and Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland were announced today as this year's winners of the Nobel Prize for Physics. Their achievements in the field of laser physics was groundbreaking and worthy of the Nobel Prize Committee's appreciation. The discovery of optic ... more

    Who won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine and for which research?

    The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine focuses on the research on cancer immunotherapies. Two pioneers in this field were awarded for their almost life-long research in this area. The laureates James P. Allison Born in 1948 the scientists worked at several famous and major cancer resear ... more

More about Nobel Foundation
More about Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences